Statistics Saturday: A Depressingly Long List Of Countries Where I Am Not Read


I recently reached my 11,000th reader here! And more recently, my 11,111th reader. But that doesn’t mean just anybody is looking at pages here so, based on the WordPress statistics page and a list of nations of the world that I found … somewhere … here’s as best I can figure all the countries that haven’t sent me even a single reader all the time I’ve been here, as of early the 29th of November:

Afghanistan Akrotiri American Samoa Andorra Angola
Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Armenia Aruba
Ashmore and Cartier Islands Azerbaijan The Bahamas Bassas da India Belarus
Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia
Botswana Bouvet Island British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei
Burkina Faso Burma Burundi Cambodia Cameroon
Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad China
Christmas Island Clipperton Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the
Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Coral Sea Islands Cote d’Ivoire Croatia
Cuba Dhekelia Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic
Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia
Ethiopia Europa Island Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas) Faroe Islands Federated States of Micronesia
Fiji French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern and Antarctic Lands Gabon
The Gambia Gaza Strip Georgia Gibraltar Glorioso Islands
Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala
Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti
Heard Island and McDonald Islands Honduras Iran Isle of Man Jan Mayen
Jersey Jordan Juan de Nova Island Kenya Kiribati
Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lesotho Liberia
Libya Liechtenstein Luxembourg Macau Madagascar
Malawi Maldives Mali Marshall Islands Martinique
Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Monaco Mongolia
Montserrat Mozambique Namibia Nauru Navassa Island
Nepal Netherlands Antilles New Caledonia Nicaragua Niger
Niue Norfolk Island North Korea Northern Mariana Islands Palau
Panama Papua New Guinea Paracel Islands Paraguay Pitcairn Islands
Reunion Rwanda Saint Helena Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia
Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe
Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Solomon Islands Somalia
South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands Spratly Islands Sudan Suriname Svalbard
Swaziland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Timor-Leste
Togo Tokelau Tonga Tromelin Island Turkmenistan
Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Uzbekistan Vanuatu
Vatican City Virgin Islands Wake Island Wallis and Futuna West Bank
Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe

Have to be honest: I’m not surprised about Cuba, North Korea, or Mongolia. And I figure Syria, Sudan, Clipperton Island, and Eritrea have better things to do than deal with me. But Bermuda? That hurts, man, and not having both Luxemburg and Liechtenstein? Well, that’s just not fair.


I’m not sure of the Republic of the Congo and the Democratic Republic of the Congo are the same place or not. I have a nagging recollection that they’re completely different places and I should know whether they are, but it’s embarrassing to admit that and I think I’m just going to put them in different table rows and hope nobody notices the listing because who’s actually going to read all those listed countries and see if I made up any of them?

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

13 thoughts on “Statistics Saturday: A Depressingly Long List Of Countries Where I Am Not Read”

    1. See, they can say one Congo is “not to be confused with” the other Congo, but I’m going to do all the confusing I want. Heck, if I feel like confusing both Congos with Anguilla, I will do that and see if Wikipedia can stop me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow! The PRINCIPALITY of Andorra! Never heard of it! But I did hear Catalan (their primary language) when I was in Barcelona — so weird. One minute I could understand Spanish (I speak Spanish) and the next I’d wondered what had gone wrong with my brain. Well, the peeps in Barcelona were Speaking Catalan! And Catalan is not that similar to Spanish. It was interesting because, as I’m sure you know, there is a big fight to preserve Catalan in Barcelona and other parts of Spain. Some of the street and public signs were “corrected” back to Catalan by being crossed out with spray paint, markers and such.

        Like

        1. Really? I actually thought Andorra was almost kind of famous for being obscure, the way everyone knows that everyone else supposedly never heard of Millard Fillmore.

          And I am mildly familiar with the struggle between Catalan and the mainstream Spanish government for the cultural identity (though I admit I’m better-informed about the Basque side of things). I admit it’s a little bit alien to me, but that’s just because despite trying to learn about other cultures I still have some very strong American Romantic Myths About History embedded in my skull and one of them is the idea that European countries are these hard little atomic bundles that solidified in place in either 1815 (western Europe) or 1946 (eastern Europe) with any variations since then an error to be rectified.

          Liked by 1 person

      2. BTW, that list of countries is interesting. I knew I was geographically ignorant before, but now with this list I’m below imbecile level! Thanks for the humbilization! ; )

        Just when I get too big for my britches, someone like comes along and learns me somethin’!

        Liked by 1 person

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

