This Is What I Get For Noticing Stuff (Also, Mathematics Comics)


I don’t want to sound like somebody neurotically obsessed with the exceedingly minor fluctuations in his readership, but, you know, I do blog. And I noticed over the past month that I had been getting pretty consistently more than 20 page views a day, as WordPress makes this out, and I was feeling pretty good about this, since a one-day readership spike is great but people coming back regularly suggests I’m at least amusing some people dependably and 20 is a nice round number bigger than ten. And I figured, well, the daily statistics graph WordPress offers gives thirty days of results and why not see if I can get thirty days in a row of at least 20 readers per day before saying anything and come December 6th I was just all ready to have a petty little celebration and, of course, what happens but the 6th topped out at 19 views. (It’s almost as though an essay about how this forgotten Popeye cartoon was disappointing didn’t appeal to people, or something.)

Oh, I rebounded, sure — in fact, the 7th had more readers than any other of the past thirty days — but yeah, I feel like maybe I shouldn’t have started noticing things in the first place.


Anyway, Over on my mathematics blog, which has a completely different theme where the search current-favorites stuff and list of tags and stuff is on the right side rather than the left side of the page, I’ve got another article describing stuff that comic strips make me think of. I know that a lot of people get tense at the idea of mathematics, but if it helps, I don’t get into anything that requires more effort than figuring out about how many seconds there are in a year.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

2 thoughts on “This Is What I Get For Noticing Stuff (Also, Mathematics Comics)”

  1. Truth be told, I’ve never been good with numbers and statistics and things, so I never really know what I’m looking at whenever I poke around behind the scenes of my WordPress blog. My brain usually slips into a loop of Merrie Melodies cartoons I saw as a kid. Hey, at least it helps me to cope, right? 😛

    Like

    1. Oh, but statistics is a magnificent field, because it lets you, after a bit of training and some hard thought, turn a complicated field of many disparate numbers you don’t understand into a mere handful of descriptive numbers you also don’t understand, at a considerable savings in time.

      Liked by 1 person

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

