Statistics Saturday for the New Year, or December Anyway


First: I have another batch of mathematics comics to talk about, over on the mathematics blog, because Comic Strip Master Command was really enthusiastic about pushing math topics on unsuspecting readers for the last week of 2014.

Second: It’s a new month! That justifies looking back over December 2014 and reviewing what was popular, so it can be more popular, and what countries sent me a lot of readers, and what ones barely did. Again, I don’t understand, but people like it.

It was another very popular month for the blog: 1,251 page views, as WordPress makes it out, which is not quite the Kinks-inflated 1,389 of October but still up from November’s 1,164. The number of unique visitors was down to 626 (from 676 in November and 895 in October), but I suspect that reflects things getting back to normal after the Kinks excitement. That’s a growth in views per visitor, though, from 1.72 to 2.00, which is probably a statistic of its own of some note.

The countries sending me the most readers were the United States (973), Australia (48), Canada (35), the United Kingdom (27), New Zealand (19), Brazil (14), Slovenia (12), and Spain (11), and I admit Slovenia took me by surprise, although, hi guys. I didn’t have you mixed up with Slovakia. Single-reader countries this time around were Belgium, Finland, Ireland, Italy, Lebanon, Pakistan, Sweden, and Venezuela. Belgium and Finland were single-reader countries last month (but not before that), although I see that New Zealand was last month and suddenly whoever read me then was joined by eighteen fellow countrymen. Hi, gang. My India readership grew from three to four, so that’s something.

The individual pages that got the most readers, and this is counting only 30 or more because there were thirteen that got 25 or more, and twenty that got 20 or more viewers, were:

  1. Calm Urged As Comic Strip _The Better Half_ Ends, which I guess shows how passionately people feel about a comic strip I always thought was a worn-down copy of The Lockhorns but somehow came first by a decade. I better not cross their fans anymore.
  2. On The Next Thrilling Episode Of Star Trek: The Next Generation, part of that little string I did of captioning a particularly exquisite moment of Next Generation actors in unusually shiny clothes.
  3. Little Nemo in Mathmagicland, in which I prematurely suspected Little Nemo’s caretakers of wishing him ill just because I have an irrational prejudice against volatile organic solvents.
  4. Statistics Saturday: What Average People Think Are Rodents Versus What Biologists Think Are Rodents, and again, I don’t dispute biologists’ conclusion that guinea pigs are rodents, I’m just saying, if we find out this decade that we were mistaken all along I’m not going to be too surprised.
  5. Is That Enough?, some grumbling about Christmas carols and the attempt to make one in the modern era.

There’s no good search term poetry this time around either, although there were a lot of people looking for information on The Better Half (the cartoonist gave it up for his own cartooning projects), as well as these evocative phrases: he gladest was in his fathers. for , unknown to his daughter “conrad” the old baron klugenstein, and alphabet percentages by 8 people workload, as well as mnemonic device for since and sense. For the last, I offer this: stalactites cling from the ceiling, while stalagmites grow from the ground. This won’t help with “since” and “sense”, but at least you’ll have “stalactites” and “stalagmites” worked out, and maybe make some progress on “ceiling” and “ground” too, and that’s something to be proud of as 2015 gets under way.

Finally, general readers might not know this, but WordPress has put in a new statistics page for people who want to study their own sites, and it is awful. Less information, spread out over more space, requiring more clicks: it’s like they read the modern book on redesigning computer stuff so everything about it is noticeably worse.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

8 thoughts on “Statistics Saturday for the New Year, or December Anyway”

    1. Well, thank you, although I doubt I could do much to make 2014 great; from all accounts, everybody had a 2014 that was just marginally better than finding a tire fire in their hall closet. But if I helped a bit of it be a little better that’s a good start.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. When you make others smile, I consider that great. True! Here’s to no tire fires in our hall closet PLUS great things of all sorts in 2015. I kick-started it with chocolate, asti spumante, and baby hugs today 😀

        Like

    1. Oh, goodness, thank you. I’m flattered.

      Mercifully it’s still possible to use the old stats page, and about every tenth time I switch back to it WordPress asks why I prefer the old. If I believed in companies listening to feedback I’d like to think that this will lead to improvement on their part, but, I know they’ll just someday withdraw the old and then we’ll gradually have to get used to the less convenient, less useful new, and then once we have they’ll replace that with a worse.

      Like

      1. The new page has improved a little since I first tried it. (They added the map.) Still I will continue to always use the old stats page. WordPress has never asked me why I prefer it. Certainly if enough people would only use the old page, they would get the message.

        Like

        1. I hadn’t seen that they’d added the map, but, really, what they need to do is improve things back to where they started. Which is the perpetual struggle, I guess.

          (I say this aware that what I really want to do is a major rewrite of a project at work, because I’ve got a much better idea now of how the system should be structured. In the end users might see that the system works more swiftly and reliably, but, users don’t keep actual track of those things and all they’d know is that a lot of their bookmarks broke and everything looks different.)

          Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

