Math Comics, and the Tree’s End


Once again over on my mathematics blog is a bundle of comic strips that talk about mathematical themes. I use about 1600 words to describe them, although in fairness, some of those words I used several times over, such as “stuff” and “start” and even some words that don’t begin with “st”. Also there’s this neat bit about how you can find where north is by drawing a clock. Honest.

If you’re not interested particularly in how The Lockhorns insult one another, that’s all right. You might be glad to know at least that our pet rabbit did get his chance at the Christmas tree before the adventure of getting rid of it developed.

Our pet rabbit, partly standing --- paw resting on his exercise pen's frame --- while he nibbles at a tree branch.
I’m pretty sure our pet rabbit is not actually doing “talk to the paw cause the mouth is eating Christmas tree” but I can’t swear it isn’t in his mind.
Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

3 thoughts on “Math Comics, and the Tree’s End”

  1. I can’t recall ever laughing during any of my Calculus I, II or III classes nor in Proof of Theorems. Although I did do the mathematics portion of my physical chemistry lab in my sleep one night – true story.

    Like

    1. I’m saddened to hear this. There’s some pretty good cracks to be made about the Fredholm Alternative. Well, not so many, but “the Fredholm Alternative” is such a great name for a thing it totally deserves to be the critical point in a political or military thriller of some kind.

      Our differential equations professor insisted we had to be able to prove the Contraction Mapping Theorem in our sleep, and to be fair, if you can’t, you’re probably sleeping pretty hard.

      Liked by 1 person

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

