And The Golden Moment


Well, since people have been kind enough to tell me how to pronounce “quinoa” now I guess I don’t have much choice but to go visit Promontory Summit, Utah. I was pretty sure from the way I remembered it in history class that it was Promontory Point, Utah, by the way, which is at least closer to it than my father got since he figured he just had to reach Ogden, Utah, and maybe ask around. I’m still not clear on the difference between Promontory Point and Promontory Summit, but I suppose Wikipedia probably has a fair idea of the location where the Golden Spike for the completion of the First Transcontinental Railroad Unless You Count The One In Panama, Which Does Honestly Seem Like Cheating, was laid.

That location, it turns out, is at Stanford University, located in Stanford Summit Point, California, which is not Utah, owing to certain technicalities. This makes it sound like a pretty good joke on those railroad millionaires who drove in the Golden Spike, since they obviously weren’t very good at it, until you notice that the National Park Service’s page about the Golden Spike National Historic Site warns how satellite navigators are liable to send visitors to the wrong place, so maybe they were just following directions and ended up in California by accident. Anyway, Utah or California or somewhere else, I guess I’ve got to go there. I’ll let you know.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

3 thoughts on “And The Golden Moment”

  1. We have that in New Zealand, not least in two towns called Palmerston and two called Havelock, to which North was (eventually) appended for the ones that were meant to be furthest north. And they ARE further north than their southern namesakes, which puzzles me given the generally random way other things happened (the suburb of Napier South, for example, is the furthest NORTH residential district there these days). Luckily there is only one Wellington (where I live) but as that’s also a term for a waterproof boot here, I hesitate to admit to that that too loudly.

    Like

    1. Oh, now, the most wonderful bit of that I know of is back in central New Jersey, where the city of New Brunswick split off North Brunswick (to the south), East Brunswick (even more south), and South Brunswick (to the west). In the middle of all the is, of course, Milltown. And yes, therefore, New Brunswick is the oldest of the Brunswicks. These are all in Middlesex County, which is, at least, tolerably near the center of the state. Sussex County, New Jersey, is naturally the most northerly of the counties.

      Liked by 1 person

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

