Curing the Hiccoughs in Rabbits


I need to preface this by pointing out it’s all true, which I know make it sound like I’m making it up, but I’m not. Our pet rabbit occasionally gets hiccoughs, which are as adorable as you might imagine, if you’re imagining a rabbit flopped out on his bed and suddenly, without sound, jiggling rhythmically, all over.

So I caught him starting to hiccough, and called out, “Try a folk remedy! That always helps!” And he looked a little bit at me for making such a racket and his hiccoughing stopped right there.

From this I learn that I’ve found an exciting new folk remedy for hiccoughs.


Also, if you enjoy this sort of thing, I found reasons to reprint a Jumble word puzzle over on my mathematics blog, because it mentioned abacuses, and that’s enough for my discussions of mathematical-themed comic strips. Also I explain why I think a magic trick from the kids’ activity page was wrong.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

12 thoughts on “Curing the Hiccoughs in Rabbits”

        1. Rabbits are awfully good about being quiet, which makes it all the more astounding when they do make noise. Ours is actually fairly noisy, for a rabbit, in that he’ll sneeze and even, on occasion, snore. And if you think a rabbit snoring loud enough to wake himself up might be adorable, you’re underestimating how adorable it actually is.

          Liked by 1 person

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

