And This Week’s Question


Bit of overhead first. There was a mathematical comics roundup on my other blog back on the 4th, and if that wasn’t enough, another one on the 7th. Sorry to just get around to mentioning this now, but you know how stuff backs up.

Otherwise. Well. I’ve seen several little essays mentioning how important it is for a blogger to encourage reader interaction and engagement, and that as an author I have to go out looking for it when it doesn’t spring up naturally. These essays seem trustworthy, what with their being grammatically correct and getting over 184 comments each. So I want to try directly asking you readers something and giving space for answers and that hoping this doesn’t leave everyone feeling awkward instead.

The question foremost in my mind, though, probably only makes sense to people of my generational cohort and possibly only in the United States, although I guess I wouldn’t be surprised if it were understood in Canada and the United Kingdom. Maybe I’m wrong and readers in, say, Belarus will know what I’m talking about. It’s just I know how silly it is an attempt at reaching out to the readers is probably going to exclude some and I can’t help that.

Anyway, here goes. When you were a kid, did you just assume that Peak Freans would be around when you were a grown-up as planned, or did you take measures to assure they would be? If not, why?

I just know I’m going about this all wrong.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

2 thoughts on “And This Week’s Question”

    1. Ah, too bad. Their commercials and their catchy little jingle — “Peak Freans are extraordinarily! Serious! Cook-ies! If you’re a grownup or plan to be one, you’ll know what we mean!”, which didn’t make sense even then — were capable of staying in the mind for years and years. The cookies seem to be gone, though, reorganized out of existence thanks to corporate mergers and streamlining and all that. Too bad.

      Liked by 1 person

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

