In Which Twitter Leaves Me Confused


I put some links to it in yesterday, but let me be less cryptic. I had another review of mathematically-themed comic strips over on my other blog, where I reached my 30,000th view over the past week. That’s thanks to Apartment 3-G spillover, which is neat since I don’t think I ever had reason to review a 3-G strip for its mathematical context.

Meanwhile, I wanted to share the Twitter Trending panel that I got on Thanksgiving night, after we’d eaten so very much and had the fire go out and our pet rabbit be let back out of his hutch into the living room to sulk about the indignity of it all.

Trending topics: MacysParade, Brett Favre, Wayne, #DayNightTest, #Thanksgiving, and way down the list, Andre 3000.
Remember back when everybody was talking about Wayne? Those were good days. People seemed to laugh more then.

So why did Macy’s think it worth paying money to tell me to watch a parade that was finished twelve hours before? Or did they get a really good deal trying to make me remember the parade 365 days, nine hours from then? And you thought I was going to forget there’s a Leap Day next year, didn’t you? Or does Twitter just think I’m so unimportant that advertising tweets need an extra 16 hours to get to me? Or was I just invited in to the top-secret Macy’s Day After Thanksgiving Parade? I remember that when I was seven, I thought there was also a Macy’s Christmas Day Parade and was confused nobody else seemed to know about it, but when I was seven I thought a lot of stupid things, most of them about how good Ruby/Spears cartoons were. So what I’d like to know is why was everybody tweeting about Brett Favre on Thursday? Why would he be working for Macy’s?

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

