In Support Of Pants-Wearing Animals


My love needed some books from the library. I went along because I like being places with my love. I did not go because I needed any books. I had several library books to read yet anyway. And I have a half-dozen or so books, some going back to summer, that I’ve bought and haven’t got to because I’ve been borrowing library books at a good rate (about one book per book finished) since then. I was there simply in a companionate role, smiling and being present and that was it.

What I’m saying is of course I borrowed Alan Abel’s The Great American Hoax, about the Society for Indecency to Naked Animals. This was the early-60s satire of groups that go out caring about stuff. It proposed that all sufficiently large animals wear clothes. The story of how allegedly grown-up people were fooled into thinking it was real was bought by Paramount for adaptation into a movie, if you believe the jacket copy, which who would?

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

2 thoughts on “In Support Of Pants-Wearing Animals”

  1. I don’t know about the movie, but I believe Mr Abel or one of his group (which I believe included a pre-famous George Carlin) appeared on an episode of the syndicated Garry Moore version of “To Tell the Truth”. As much as I enjoy the original I wish Buzzr would air this version from time to time as well.

    Like

    1. As best I can tell there wasn’t ever a movie made based on the book. I’m not sure it could be a movie, since it is mostly about one prank that got slightly bigger than anyone expected, but that also didn’t exactly change the world or anything. I guess you could maybe do it as an indie sort of take on Catch Me If You Can. But when the big conflict is whether to admit to the IRS that you didn’t actually receive a multimillion-dollar bequest to support animal pants and so probably shouldn’t pay taxes on that, you’re not going to be played by Peter Ustinov.

      Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

