Statistics Saturday: Exponential Growth Versus Time


A Google Books NGram Viewer chart for 'exponential growth', which shows from 1920 to 1970 what does look like exponential growth, apart from a little bit during World War II where it's below the curve.
Because I saw a jokey cartoon going around Twitter showing the use of ‘exponential growth’ growing exponentially with time, is why, and I wondered if that was actually so, and then I fiddled with the date range until it looked kind of true-ish.

Honesty compels me to admit the growth of ‘exponential growth’ drops off dramatically after 1970. The term reaches a peak in the late 70s, slacks off to about 1990, and rebounds, but below its disco-era peak.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

2 thoughts on “Statistics Saturday: Exponential Growth Versus Time”

    1. A good point! Though now I’m curious how the corpus size actually is growing. And I realize that I should’ve also checked on the growth rate for ‘linear growth’ because, after all, why not?

      Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

