Oh, Yeah, Did The World End Yet?


Oh yeah, we had that thing where the world was coming to an end. Let me check if it did. Um. No, looks like it hasn’t. If the world has then there’s a lot more squirrels underneath the bird feeder than I would have expected. Let me check the seven-day forecast. Well, it’s supposed to be in the mid-60s tomorrow, even though this is Michigan. That’s a bit unsettling but it isn’t precisely postapocalyptic. I’ll leave a granola bar out for the ice phoenix, who I can’t imagine is happy about this.

Also, you know where we had that problem where time kept stopping? The mantle clock kept stopping, the Christmas lights timer got broke, my love’s watch stopped, all that? The watch was just jammed and we could start it again by shaking. Well, it’s gone on and stopped, once again at about the same time as on the stopped mantle clock. Also, the kitchen clock, the one that sets itself based on the radio signals of … some … atomic clock … somewhere? That one stopped too. The battery ran out, it looks like. Still, unnerving, that’s what it is.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

2 thoughts on “Oh, Yeah, Did The World End Yet?”

    1. I’m not sure just what was scheduled, but Weather Underground’s seven-day forecast had this alarming thing where it cut off at 6 pm the following Friday and there was just this big absence as the forecast conditions after that point. When it got past a full day of emptiness I wanted to know what they knew that I didn’t know, excepting of course that I didn’t want to know it at that point.

      Liked by 1 person

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

