Whew!


New High Powered Flashlight Is Now Available In Michigan.
So, uh, too bad for you, Indiana? I guess? Also this is clickbait somehow?

I had worried!


Does that seem skimpy ? That seems skimpy. Well, how about this . I was reading Lisa Jardine’s Worldly Goods: A New History of the Renaissance. In the last chapter she quotes a letter by the master artist Albrecht Dürer to one of his patrons. Dürer’s quoted as passing on his nephew’s thanks for two florins sent as Trinkgeld, money to get a drink. I’m delighted to learn that 16th Century German apparently had a perfectly legitimate word for “beer money”. Also that it’s adorable! I can’t imagine a more adorable term for this unless it’s whatever the Dutch version of “Trinkgeld” is. There must be a word for the joy of discovering an adorable German word for something. I bet it’s in French.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

6 thoughts on “Whew!”

  1. My sister, who lived in the Netherlands until not too long ago, tells me the Dutch don’t actually have a single word for ‘drinks money’ – a pity, as Trinkgeld is quite a good one and should be available in more languages.

    Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

