No Robert Benchley Society Contest For 2016


My love asked whatever happened to the Robert Benchley Humor Writing Contest. It’s a good question. I hadn’t heard anything about it and wondered what happened. It happens they just made an announcement:

No Benchley Humor Writing Competition this Year

I regret to inform you that the Robert Benchley Society Annual Humor Writing Competition will not be held in 2016. Watch this blog for further announcements about Society activities.

This is way too much effort to make to find a way not to give me the award. Guys, I can take rejection. It’s all right. I don’t look to you as a way to get my feelings hurt. I just enter the contest for the sport of it. I’ve got people I’d been intimate with for years to hurt my feelings when I need to feel hurt.

Anyway, I’ll pass along any word I receive about why they aren’t doing anything. Also I’ll look up the Donald Ogden Stewart Society Humor Writing Contest. And my mathematics blog did comic strips again yesterday, so please enjoy that if you will.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

4 thoughts on “No Robert Benchley Society Contest For 2016”

  1. The word I got was that the award was earmarked for the winner of this year’s presidential election. Maybe you should try in a non-election year. Wishing you luck for 2017

    Like

    1. Oh dear. I hope the presidential candidates were told there was going to be an essay section. I’m sure I would run for president if I couldn’t do it entirely by multiple-choice and short-answers.

      Liked by 2 people

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

