Here I Just Have To Sit Down Quietly A While


So then this turned up in the “Licensing” section of Wikipedia’s entry on the comic strip Beetle Bailey:

2012 Rolex and Bamford Watch Department created a Beetle Bailey Rolex watch.

And I just don’t even remember what I was getting worked up about before that. I think it was trying to understand my completely irrational annoyance that Hagar the Horrible mentioned potatoes this week. But I just … you know, I just … I don’t know.

Hagar, running like two steps and swinging his sword: 'Swordplay is my meat and potatoes!' Hagar bows over, desperately short on breath. Helga: 'Looks like your met and potatoes are getting in the way of your swordplay!'
Chris Browne’s Hagar the Horrible for the 16th of June, 2016. And, look, I’m basically fine with anachronistic humor in these strips. It’s the whole point. I don’t insist on historic accuracy in Hagar or B.C. or whatever other situation comic strips are even out there, no more than I insist on it when The Muppets are doing a Medieval Silliness sketch. So I have no grounds for being bothered by this and yet I am. Also, so, like, Hagar’s dead, right? I mean, if running four feet and swinging his sword knocks him over, then the next time he gets shipwrecked and stranded on a desert island — which happens to him like three times a month — his eyeballs are seagull snacks, right? And not for a large seagull, either, one of those little trainee seagulls that needs it explained again what the difference is between eyeballs and eggs.
Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

2 thoughts on “Here I Just Have To Sit Down Quietly A While”

  1. And today, Hagar goes to a tavern at the North Pole with an Inuit.
    Sometimes I think the minions who grind this stuff out just avoid learning anything about Vikings.
    Other days, I suspect they know everything, and are sitting in a longhouse somewhere laughing at us.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I know. And I mean, I know that for the most part historical inaccuracy is a feature and not a bug of the comic. At least, part of what’s supposed to be funny about Hagar or B.C. or whatnot is anachronistic jokes and setups. Running into (say) a princess who refuses to be rescued from the tower because she’s a feminist and wants a woman to do it is funny, or at least funny by the definitions of the setup, not least because it is putting a 1972 attitude into a Vaguely Whenever But Definitely The Past character. (OK, the 1972 attitude would be to say she was a women’s-libber, and the syndicated comics haven’t talked like that in nearly a decade now, but still.)

      And yet somehow the potato bothers me. Meeting Inuits at a North Pole bar … well, that didn’t bother me, but it bugged you and that’s enough. There’s something deeply irrational going on about what breaks the comic suspension of disbelief without itself being a joke.

      Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

