The Dustin Hoffman Question


My love and I got to thinking about Dustin Hoffman, as people will. We couldn’t think of what he might have been doing, acting-wise, ever since Sphere which came out in like … 1997? 1998? 1997 sounds plausible-ish. Let’s say that. We both are pretty sure we saw most of the movie, although in my case that’s just because there was this stretch from 2003 through 2006 when it was always on, at least up to the point where was that Samuel L Jackson stops reading 20,000 Leagues Under The Sea.

Anyway, we were figuring that probably Hoffman isn’t still there, left on the set of Sphere, waiting to hear if there’s any more retakes to do or something like that. Wikipedia says he also did some voice acting for Kung Fu Panda and Kung Fu Panda 2, which both of which I think we saw, and The Tale Of Desperaux, which I know I saw because at one point in it a mouse fights a monster made of gourds and I didn’t make that up. Anyway, voice-acting you can do from anywhere so that doesn’t prove he isn’t still on the set of Sphere. So, does anyone know anyone who can check? Thanks kindly.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

2 thoughts on “The Dustin Hoffman Question”

  1. Assuming this is rhetorical, because of course you know imdb, there are 3 Tales of Hoffman’s last 20 years that I can think off offhand –
    Jerry Stiller, er, I mean Bernie Focker
    Mr Magorium – because after seeing a trailer, I swore a solemn oath to never watch a minute
    The Critic, in A Series of Unfortunate Events – the little pup read the entire series and was disappointed by the movie

    Like

    1. It’s mostly rhetorical. I mean, it isn’t hard to check IMDB or Wikipedia or all that. But I do sometimes like just trying to remember stuff and seeing how wrong that goes. It’s a fun pastime, one people don’t do anymore except if they’re recording a podcast live and unedited and don’t feel they can check something on their phones. It leads us occasionally into wonderful and strange mishaps.

      Liked by 1 person

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

