Is Anyone Checking On Reader’s Digest These Days?


I won’t make excuses for leafing through a Reader’s Digest in the self-check lane at Meijer’s. Those lanes move slow, what with the United States having decided it has to switch over to chip-card readers like fifteen years after everyone else in the world has. Also that every store has to do it over the course of three weeks. So every line in every store is slow and angry, with chip readers cursing at us. We curse back. But the current issue offers this headline:

Be a Folding Genius: 5 Folding Hacks That Will Probably Change Your Life

And they’re not even talking about stuff that really would help, like folding your car up into an easily totable suitcase like George Jetson did in the opening credits and never on the actual show. Or working out how to unfold, say, an old Sam Goody receipt into a basic but functional-for-experimental-purposes 3-D printer. They’re talking about folding underwear up so it takes less space in your luggage. In short, I have never been all that comfortable with how Reader’s Digest places its possessive. It isn’t a magazine for a single reader and I’m pretty sure it doesn’t reflect the tastes of a solitary reader. I’m bothered.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

4 thoughts on “Is Anyone Checking On Reader’s Digest These Days?”

    1. When I was a kid, I would read all the articles, because of course I would; what else were the articles for? But the humorous bits were the real delight and I didn’t even suspect how many of them were ancient gags reworked. I mean, the articles said they were submitted by real actual people, didn’t they?

      (I kind of wonder if and when they do buy jokes anymore. I’ve got a couple that could be put in fifty words and sort of sound like something that maybe happened.)

      Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

