Statistics Friday: How August 2016 Went Around These Parts, Thanks Mostly To Mary Worth And Funky Winkerbean


I’m beginning to think I must acknowledge the truth: that I’m never going to be very good at visiting other people’s WordPress blogs and commenting on them, and that I’m also kind of lousy at writing the sorts of posts that encourage cross-talk around here. I talk monthly about how I mean to change that, but I don’t actually, and that must mean something. I could resolve to work out what that is, but I’ve seen what happens with my resolutions to this sort of thing. You have too, if you’ve been around in past months.

That said: August was a great month for me, reader-wise. My best since the Apartment 3-Gocalypse, in fact. WordPress reports some 1,416 page views from 779 unique visitors over the course of August. That’s way up from July (1,087 page views, 549 visitors) and June (1,063 page views, 606 visitors). The number of likes fluttered around its typical levels. Likes were down to 187 from July’s 206 and up from June’s 180. Comments dropped to a mere 24, down from July’s 41 and June’s 52. I just don’t think I have the knack for picking subjects that draw out responses. Maybe I need a blog icebreaker course.

I don’t have an obvious single source behind all these page views. I suspect the cause, though. It’s all my comic strip talk. My most popular article of the month was one I kind of expected to draw in lost souls. Next-most-popular was complaining about Funky Winkerbean of course, and the rest — well, here’s the top five:

I admit being a tiny bit sad the best any of my original long-form pieces does is eighth place (When Should You Wash Your Hands?, followed closely by What Constellation Am I Looking At?). But at least I can be useful, if not actually funny.

The countries sending me the greatest number of readers in August were:

  • United States (1112)
  • India (46)
  • Canada (40)
  • Germany (32)
  • United Kingdom (28)

And there were fewer single-reader countries than usual this time around:

  • Bangladesh
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Finland
  • Hungary
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • Russia
  • Thailand (***)

Thailand’s been a single-reader country for three months now. Nobody else is even going on two months. Singapore sent me seven readers. Portugal four, so I maybe don’t have to worry about them so much. The European Union sent me five, even more than last month. Still not a country. Still a mysterious listing. No sign of Poland. What’s wrong, guys?

The month starts with the humor blog having 39,455 page views from some 20,485 distinct visitors. WordPress said this month the most popular reading date was Monday, with 16 percent of page views. July the most popular day of the week was Tuesday, with 18 percent of page views. I suspect there’s no actually significant difference between reading days. 12:00 am is still the most popular hour, with 8 percent of page views. That’s probably Universal Time. I mostly post in the 12:00 hour, Universal Time.

WordPress says I have 681 total followers, which is up from 671 listed at the start of August. If you want to be among them, there’s a little blue button in the upper left corner of the page, “Follow Another Blog, Meanwhile”. And under that is a button to get posts e-mailed to you. I don’t want to brag about the number of e-mail readers I have, but I did promise my father I’d get him added to that list. And I’m on Twitter also, and getting ready for a massive livetweeting of that He-Man DVD I bought at the other independent video store’s going-out-of-business sale.

Thanks for being around, all of you. I’m glad to be here.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

2 thoughts on “Statistics Friday: How August 2016 Went Around These Parts, Thanks Mostly To Mary Worth And Funky Winkerbean”

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

