Ahead of the Service Call


My car is just short of 90,000 miles, which is kind of amazing when you consider I work from home anymore. Now I have to work out the important questions: can I get it serviced before the trip to Cedar Point amusement park we’re figuring to take this weekend? And: can I get the interior vacuumed out so the car repair people don’t see how often I’ve clawed bits of fingernails off and left them to fall onto the floor? They’re my fingernails, yes, but I know if I were servicing someone’s 2009 Scion tC I wouldn’t want to run across torn-off fingernails. Also given that we’ve got like fourteen perfectly good nail clippers in the house why don’t I use those? I bet it’s because when I’m at home I almost never get stuck at an excessively long stop light and have the time to maul my own fingers.

I already worry enough about being judged by people I see as much as three times per year, I don’t need to worry about this on top of it. I wonder if I should mention the fingernail anxiety when they ask me to review the servicing.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

2 thoughts on “Ahead of the Service Call”

  1. I keep a nail file in my truck for long red lights

    However pieces of nails that someone may find have never caused me any anxiety should they?

    Like

    1. Maybe I need to put stop lights around the house, so I can at least trim my nails where I can sweep it up and nobody will see but me.

      Why shouldn’t I worry about people I don’t know and who don’t care about me learning that I sometimes tear bits of nail off my fingernails? Who wouldn’t worry?

      Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

