Statistics September, Or, Getting Around To This Finally


OK, finally I can go look over what WordPress thinks my readership was for September. It wasn’t as many people as in August. I bet that’s because I didn’t carry on with pointing out more comic strips people should read. That seemed popular in August and why would I do more of what works?

WordPress records my blog here as having got 1,130 page views in September, from 697 distinct visitors. That’s down from August’s 1,416 page views from 779 distinct visitors. It’s up still from July, some 1,087 page views from 549 distinct visitors. I don’t know how many of them kept over month to month.

I stayed about as likable as ever. 190 likes were clicked in September, barely up from 187 in August and down from 206 in July. Comments were way up, possibly owing to how much interesting stuff there is going on about model railroading in Lansing and New Zealand. 69 comments for September, compared to 24 in August and 41 in July. It’s my highest comment count since I changed my internal linkings so those links wouldn’t count as comments.

My top-five posts for September include one of the long-form posts I generally work the hardest on, so that’s gratifying. They also include a three-way tie for fifth place, so let me just toss them all out and see what you make of them:

So, if nothing else I’ve learned that people like seeing their countries mentioned. So I’ll just list all the countries that WordPress says sent me readers the past month, along with however many readers that was. I don’t know why that works, but it does. I’ll take it.

Country Readers
United States 808
India 53
Canada 46
United Kingdom 34
New Zealand 24
Australia 23
Germany 18
Philippines 17
France 9
Argentina 8
Spain 7
Brazil 6
Singapore 6
Kenya 5
Switzerland 5
Austria 3
Denmark 3
Indonesia 3
Italy 3
Netherlands 3
South Africa 3
Uruguay 3
Bulgaria 2
Croatia 2
Cyprus 2
Greece 2
Israel 2
Japan 2
Malaysia 2
Mexico 2
Norway 2
Puerto Rico 2
Sweden 2
Turkey 2
Costa Rica 1
Czech Republic 1
Estonia 1
European Union 1
Hong Kong SAR China 1
Hungary 1 (*)
Mauritius 1
Poland 1
Portugal 1
Romania 1
Taiwan 1

Hungary was also a single-reader country in August. No country’s been a single-reader country for two months running. The European Union dropped from five in August and I don’t know what to make of that. At least Poland’s back again.

October starts with my blog having got 40,586 page views from 21,183 distinct visitors. I don’t know which page was view number 40,000 but can that compare to which page was view number 40,001? Easily. WordPress says the most popular day for reading was Monday, with 16 percent of the views. That was true in August too. The most popular hour was 12:00 am, with eight percent of page views. That’s also exactly what the August insights claimed. I double-checked; it doesn’t look like I just read August’s figures again. I don’t know.

WordPress says I have 687 total followers, up from 681 at the start of September. You can be among them by clicking the “Follow Another Blog, Meanwhile” button in the upper left corner of the page. There’s also a button to get posts e-mailed to you although there’s not so many people looking for that. I’m also @Nebusj on Twitter, because I couldn’t think of a better name. Maybe you can think of a better one, but a better name for me? My parents weren’t able to find one so I don’t know why you’re so optimistic.

Another Blog, Meanwhile Index

The Index dropped two points today, reflecting investor confidence that it wasn’t really going to use those points anyway. “We probably would just leave them in the junk drawer,” they said, “or maybe even the Scary Drawer in the kitchen that has all those dusty old metal-covered things for home projects we never built and, like, coupons from the Ames Department Store that we’ve moved to four different houses since Ames closed down in 2002.” The wild, starry-eyed, mad fools.

129

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

2 thoughts on “Statistics September, Or, Getting Around To This Finally”

  1. After I originally commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time
    a comment is added I receive 4 emails with
    the exact same comment. Perhaps there is a way you can remove me from that service?

    Kudos!

    Like

    1. That’s a fine question and I do not know; I don’t see an obvious way to do it. Do you know which post it was you originally checked to notify on new comments? I can’t figure how to find it but every bit of information is a lead.

      Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

