In Which My Snark Gets Preempted


So there I was at Meijer’s reading all the labels of stuff because don’t we all and I noticed this bottle of nothingness.

Herbal dietary supplement 'Water Pill'.
I don’t want it to sound like I spend my time hanging around the dubiously useful dietary supplements section for no good reason. We regularly stop in there to buy a bottle of papaya enzyme tablets for our pet rabbit. Papaya enzyme is thought to probably do something good for rabbits, somehow, although nobody knows how it could or why it ought to. But our rabbit really loves the taste and looks betrayed when we snag one for ourselves and that’s something, right?

And I was all ready to joke about what you take with a water pill and then foolishly read the actual instructions.

Suggested use for the Water Pill: take one tablet with eight ounces of liquid.
I haven’t got any idea what a Water Pill is supposed to do for anyone, and I read the label over trying to work out what it was supposed to do. Or what it was made of, since apparently it doesn’t contain anything. I suppose someone will be along to explain what it does and it’ll probably be something that sounds reasonable enough, but it’s easier to laugh at something than make the tiny effort needed to learn what it’s actually about. And fine, so I’m going along with one of society’s problems then.

They beat me to the joke. What am I supposed to do with that?

Anyway, I found an excuse to include a Betty Boop cartoon over on my mathematics blog. Maybe you’d like to read that, then?

Another Blog, Meanwhile Index

And some big news! After that awkward elevator incident the mainstream and the alternate traders for the Another Blog, Meanwhile index have worked out a deal. They’ve agreed to merge the groups back into a single trading community, saving everyone a lot of stress as they don’t know which group to participate in or what might happen if they pick the wrong one. And it saves me the stress of figuring which of the indices I should be reporting on. Anyway there’s some paperwork they have to work out but they’re hoping to have that all sorted out tonight or tomorrow. For the record the mainstream and the alternate indices both rose two points yesterday, getting both back to 100, which is exactly where this all started. Isn’t that all just perfectly lined up? I’m amazed by it too.

100

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

2 thoughts on “In Which My Snark Gets Preempted”

  1. So, to over-explain: A “Water Pill” is also known as a diuretic. They encourage your body to process more water out through the kidneys, reducing inner fluid buildup. The big side effect: increased peeing with increased urgency.

    As part of my heart stuff I’m one of them daily and one occasionally.

    Herbal diuretics are… likely to cause the effect without so much targeting the symptoms. Especially with the glass of water.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I probably should have worked that out from the mention of ‘water’ and how coy the labelling was about not saying what it was all about. But it is also so easy to point and laugh and then later let someone fill in information.

      Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

