Meanwhile As I Scrutinize My E-Mail Like Every Five Minutes


I’m starting to suspect WordPress isn’t going to send me that “look how your 2016 was!” report with the animated picture of fireworks going off for every post and talking about how many people from what countries read my blogs. I hope it isn’t because of something I did, like keep on using the old-fashioned way of entering new posts. I tried, I really tried, using the new system but it’s designed the way web sites are done anymore, where everything is a bunch of floating loose islands and they’re all colored borderless rectangles and there’s no guessing what’s a button and what’s a label and what’s done automatically and what you have to find and press a button to do. I don’t want to sound prematurely old. It’s just that when I look at a web site and wonder if they’re trying to gamify my user experience I feel like I have to wash my hands. And I already do that like 260 times a day which should be enough except it never is and maybe I should go do it again. Anyway I liked the fireworks thing.

Another Blog, Meanwhile Index

The Another Blog, Meanwhile index dropped back below 100 again, daring people to insist that it’s a psychological barrier or in fact any kind of barrier at all. “Ha, ha,” say traders, “we can go anywhere we want as long as it isn’t below 90 again,” and then curled up on the floor sobbing and declaring there’s no such thing as 89, there’s no such thing as 89.

99

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

4 thoughts on “Meanwhile As I Scrutinize My E-Mail Like Every Five Minutes”

  1. I never got the fireworks email from WordPress either. Not missing it much. Being told my blog audience in any given year could fill some famous public monument x times over was depressing, because there was usually a public monument somewhere else that was larger, and I could be sure somebody else’s blog was filling that.

    Like

    1. Oh, the public monument comparisons were disappointing, sure, not least because I got the same monument for both my humor and mathematics blogs. They’re both similar enough that they don’t rank different classes of monument. But I can handle other WordPress bloggers filling more impressive monuments. What rankles me is seeing people whom my Twitter friends follow retweeting them every day and seeing those people have, like, 5,500 retweet each and I don’t even see why they were worth retweeting once. I don’t understand popularity, is the problem.

      Liked by 1 person

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

