The Standoff, In E-Mail


I wanted to finally give in to the inevitable and officially switch my e-mail model from “things I will someday answer” to “a pile of text composting”. I’ve got some fine little queries dating back to 2014 that will surely make a rich, natural creative soil someday. But to get my inbox properly designated a compost e-mail bin I had to send the state office for this sort of thing you guessed it, an e-mail. And I see from their FAQ that even if they do ever answer it I’m going to have to answer some follow-up questions and e-mail them back. I bet it’s one of those psyche-out tests where you have to declare the correct thing to do is not follow the rules. I hate those. Expect stern letter to follow as soon as I’ve looked up that question about McDonald’s stock valuation my dad was wondering about back then.

Another Blog, Meanwhile Index

The index dropped four points today, which rolled underneath the stand we keep the TV on and which is too much trouble to move for anything less than the pre-Thanksgiving major cleaning the house gets. We’d do something about that but there’s somehow more cables than there are pairs of things to be cabled together back there even though everything is plugged in on both ends. Even if we cared about a measly four points we wouldn’t care about them enough to deal with that. Check back with us in mid-November and maybe we’ll have them then.

101

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

2 thoughts on “The Standoff, In E-Mail”

  1. Excellent post! I have also often pondered the “more cables than devices” problem. I am pretty sure working it out would involve fractals (to describe the dust bunnies) and other dimensions (to locate the ends of the “extra” cables), but my feeble brain was not up to the task and subsequently became distracted by an episode of Season Three of “Shiny Objects for Beginners”.

    Like

    1. I haven’t got any ideas about how there end up being more cables than there are things to cable. I’m also helpless for how they come out tangled even when we lay them down straight and untangled and don’t even have that many in the way. I know there’s supposed to be parallels between the mathematics of cable-tangling and how proteins fold together to make the stuff of life. It’s still bizarre and it suggests life is even more doomed than we normally think it is.

      Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

