Statistics May: How The Last Month Treated My Humor Blog


I’d meant to look at my readership back on Friday but then we got some breaking news about The Phantom in. And then the usual routine stuff filled up scheduled slots and that’s why I’m getting to my monthly readership report a week into the new month.

Well, I didn’t break 2,000 page views last month. Came close, and I thought it was almost sure when I checked a couple days before May ended. But according to WordPress I finished May with 1,944 page views. That’s up from April’s 1,765, and about two busy days below March’s 2,085. I shall be lobbying to extend May to a 33-day month sooner or later. The number of unique viewers was up again, to 1,291. In April it had been 1,099; in March, 1,308. So May was almost as busy as March around here. I can cope with that.

The secular decline in ‘likes’ around here had a temporary pause in May. 167 pages got liked by someone or other, up from April’s 147 and March’s 154. Probably won’t last. Comments, now, those were typically dismal. Only ten comments made around here in May, down from April’s 26 and below even the 12-comment doldrums of March. This does coincide with a useful discovery, though. I switched back to the old style of making links to other posts here, one that generates on the page referred to a link to whatever makes the reference. These get sent to me for approval as comments. They don’t affect the comment totals, though; I certainly had more than ten internal cross-reference links in May. Since using links this way makes it easier for people to find relevant stuff in their archive binges and it doesn’t mess up the comments count I’ll stick to doing that. Still don’t know why WordPress insists I approve links from my blog to my blog, though.

Meanwhile, my conversion of the blog to a full-time report on the story strips is basically complete. The five most popular posts around here in May were:

Well, at least I can be of use to people who want to understand the ongoing Mary Worth plot without having to actually read the comic. (She’s doing the tourist areas of Cozumel Island while the special guest Bland White Guy is sneaking cigarettes behind the cruise ship’s school gym, and that’s about it.) My most popular long-form humor piece is the review of Python Anghelo’s bonkers concept document for the Popeye pinball game from the early 90s. If you haven’t read it, I’d be flattered if you did read my summary, but I really am just painting the lily that is nine pages in which the least daft part is H Ross Perot helping Popeye launch the Glomar Explorer into space. My most popular recent long-form piece was about my new computer and why I needed one.

Well: on to the roster of the nations. Where did my readers come from in May?

Country Views
United States 1495
Canada 63
India 60
United Kingdom 47
Australia 25
South Africa 23
Brazil 21
Germany 18
Romania 17
Sweden 13
New Zealand 12
Denmark 9
Netherlands 8
Poland 8
Austria 7
France 7
Italy 7
Ireland 6
Malaysia 6
Spain 6
Switzerland 6
Russia 5
Singapore 5
Hong Kong SAR China 4
Indonesia 4
Peru 4
Philippines 4
Trinidad & Tobago 4
Ukraine 4
Czech Republic 3
El Salvador 3
Finland 3
Japan 3
Mexico 3
Argentina 2
Bangladesh 2
Belarus 2
Bulgaria 2
Chile 2
Croatia 2
Norway 2
Angola 1
Belgium 1
Cambodia 1
Dominican Republic 1
Estonia 1
Georgia 1
Libya 1
Macedonia 1
Nepal 1
Pakistan 1 (*)
Portugal 1
Serbia 1
Taiwan 1 (**)
Thailand 1
Turkey 1
Venezuela 1
Vietnam 1

Pakistan was a single-reader country last month. Taiwan’s been one for two months. I make out visitors from 58 countries, up from April’s 51 and March’s 55. There were 17 single-reader countries, up from April’s 13 and March’s 14. This seems to suggest middling-readership countries are drying up. I hope they’re all right. Somebody write in they know what’s going on.

WordPress figures I started the month at 54,678 pages viewed from 29,834 distinct visitors. It also figures I have 736 followers on WordPress, up from 729 at the start of May. That seems like quite the jump, considering how these things grow. You can join them, if you like, by clicking the link on the upper right side of the page to Follow on WordPress. There’s also the chance to follow by e-mail that’s another link at the upper right side of the page.

According to Insights, my best-read day around here was Friday, which had 16 percent of page views. Friday is the date I normally publish the long-form piece of the week, but 16 percent is so close to 14 percent that I can’t believe there’s any significant difference. The 12 am hour is the most popular reading time; 12 percent of page views came then. So, stuff gets read by people who notice it’s just come up. Good to know, but I can’t say that’s revelatory.

Thanks all of you for reading, and for putting up with my meager self-examinations like this. Back to whatever it is I do tomorrow.

Another Blog, Meanwhile Index

The index rose nearly eight points today on words such as “bound”, “kurtosis”, “melange”, and “patina”.

190

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

2 thoughts on “Statistics May: How The Last Month Treated My Humor Blog”

  1. I just go with the mystery. I once tried to track this sort of thing on my blog but the results weren’t credible, not to an ex-newsman who lives by the motto, “If your mom says she loves you, check it out.” The analytics thingy showed way too many readers in unlikely places. It left my head spinning so I unplugged it (the thingy). Maybe they work better nowadays. Can’t go by the number of comments either because readers can’t comment if they get the blog in email form via Mailchimp RSS. They have to go to the web site for that, no telling how many do.

    Like

    1. I actually don’t worry about my numbers, past looking for neat coincidences or meaningless thresholds. (Who cares if I’ve had a single reader in Angola for four months running?). Best I can get is a rough idea whether something is connecting, or at least useful. The upward tick since I started doing story strip plot summaries, for example, is steady enough that I understand this is something people like. And I like doing it, at least so far, so there’s that.

      So far I’ve had few enough e-mail readers that they don’t really affect even my meager numbers. I’ve got no idea how many RSS readers there might be, although what probing I can do suggests it’s not many. Also that RSS is an under-used technology, which is a shame since it solve so many problems so very well.

      At some point, I don’t know why I publicize my numbers, except that I got the habit started and it’d be a shame to give that up, wouldn’t it?

      Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

