Statistics Saturday: The Boxes You Have


Pie chart showing the boxes you have. About 25% of them: too small. Another 25%: too big. About 40% are somehow both too big and too small. The small wedge of the remainder is partly chewed up by something.
Not pictured: having the box but not even the slightest piece of packing tape to close it up; and having this weird three-foot-long triangular box that’s the right size and shape for mailing a kite in, just in case you need to mail a kite somewhere.

Reference: Star Names: Their Lore and Meaning, Richard Hinckley Allen.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there. He/him.

2 thoughts on “Statistics Saturday: The Boxes You Have”

  1. As an incorrigible box collector, I can readily identify with this post.

    They say the first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem. Whereas I say that there is no problem that cannot be solved by a correctly-sized box.

    Like

    1. I must take you at your word that there’s no problem a correctly-sized box can’t solve, since, as the chart shows, I can’t find one.

      I have some similar disturbing findings regarding plastic bins and their lids.

      Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.