Why Does _Dick Tracy_ Look Weird Now?


This week (the one that started the 11th of February, 2024) Dick Tracy looks different because it’s a Minit Mystery, drawn by guest artist Dee Fish. (And written by Eric Costello, who’s created Minit Mysteries for the strip before.) I don’t have a credit for Dee Fish as guest artist before this, but I don’t claim to be complete in my records or good at research.

After the 25th of February, though? The answer may be revealed by the alert people of The Daily Cartoonist. D D Degg observed that the Dick Tracy page at Tribune Content Agency Intellectual Properties Franchise Opportunities LLC GmbH Inc’s web site credits Charles Ettinger as partnering with Mike Curtis to make the comic. Ettinger was guest artist for a November 2017 story rerun in January 2022, and for some time at the start of 2018 guest-inked the comic strip.

There’s no word yet when the handover will happen, trusting that it will. Nor why Shelly Pleger, the current artist (and before that, inker), might have left. If I hear anything, it’ll probably be from The Daily Cartoonist, so you’d find out sooner from them. But you never know. If I carry this blog on long enough I’m bound to have a scoop someday!

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there. He/him.

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.