MiSTed: Altered Destiny, Part 31


Previously in Keith A—‘s Sonic the Hedgehog fan fiction Altered Destiny? Author-turned-protagonist-turned-raccoon-named-Chris has got a computer in his arm, a guitar on his arm, and a girlfriend named Rebecca who got beaten up pretty badly during a raid on Robotropolis. With nothing to do but wait for her to recover, he’s playing the guitar.

This is the final segment of fan fiction! Next week is a host sketch to wrap things up. The entirety of my Mystery Science Theater 3000 fan fiction should appear at this link. And there’ll be a couple notes at the end of this piece, too..


>
> Bookshire’d nearly cried when he heard that.
>Reflecting later, he figured that the song was more for him,

CROW: Since he believed he was the center of the universe anyway.

>considering its content. Anyway, sometimes Bookshire had
>him doing small chores for him,

JOEL: But he couldn’t get Chris to paint his house.

> like changing her IV bag,
>getting water, little things like that.

TOM: You know. Medical stuff.

> He thought it would
>be good if Chris got off the chair every now and then. Poor
>guy had only slept maybe four hours in the past week.

JOEL: Indirect quotations can be a good way to move a story along.

TOM: Yeah, but this is indirect narrative.

> The
>coffee cups piled around his chair were testimony to that
>fact. Every now and then other villagers would come in and
>visit, talking to Chris,

TOM: Howl at the moon a little…

> offering words of assurance, and in
>general making sure he was all right. He would constantly

CROW: Distract them by asking if they wanted to go for walkies.

>reply that he was fine, it was her that needed to be prayed
>for.

JOEL: May the spirit of Chuck Jones watch over them.

> Most of the villagers began to understand just how
>much she meant to him.

TOM: It was like the only reason she was in this story was to be his girlfriend.

JOEL: Don’t break the reality now.

>
> On the eighth day, Rebecca awoke. Well, not like that.

CROW: Actually, she stayed asleep.

>First she’d sucked in a gasping breath. Then her eyelids
>fluttered open, and the first thing she saw was her
>boyfriend,

TOM: And later she saw Chris.

> head buried in her chest, crying. "Wh-what’s
>wrong, Chris?" He raised his head

ALL: AAAH!

> and looked into her eyes.
>"Nothing. I’m just so relieved… I thought you were gone
>for good.

CROW: Uh…I already moved all my stuff into your room…

> I love you, Rebecca." Though it was a great
>effort, she raised her arm and laid it on her head. "I love
>you too, Chris.

TOM: Hey, something or other was making this awful music-like noise all week; could you find out what it is and stop it?

> Thank you for being there with me." He
>sniffled. "I promised, didn’t I?

JOEL: Yeah, just in time to have to live up to that promise, too.

> I always make good on my
>promises." Bookshire came over. "Right now, Chris, I think
>it’s best if you went home and got some sleep.

CROW: Now that there’s some emotional payoff to the vigil.

> You’ve been
>awake for a week straight. She’s fine now,

TOM: All medical problems vanish when you just wake up again.

> I can take it
>from here. Go on, you need your sleep. You can come back
>after you’ve rested."

JOEL: When she’s had the chance to slip back into unconsciousness.

>
> Chris nodded, and stood up. "I guess you’re right."

CROW: Way to keep that promise not to leave her side.

>He looked at himself. "I think I need a shower, too.

TOM: And the entire village thanks him.

>Well," he knelt down and kissed Rebecca’s forehead. "I’ll
>be back later, dear. Don’t go anywhere, okay?" She smiled.
>"I don’t think you’ll have to worry about that, honey.

CROW: "Last month some nice fellows from the National Park Service put a radio-transmitter collar on me."

> Go
>on, you look like you were up for a week." Remembering what
>Bookshire had said, she suddenly became serious.

JOEL: Hey! You’ve been awake for 179 hours and 43 minutes!

> "You were,
>weren’t you? You didn’t leave my side for a week! Dear
>Destiny,

TOM: Won’t you come out to play?

> you really meant it! Out! Leave! Get some sleep!
>I order you to sleep for two days straight!"
>
> Chris chuckled.

CROW: Would you want me to use my super-brain to psychically heal your wounds for you?

TOM: Hey!

JOEL: Yeah, cookie to Tom.

> "Allright, ‘Becca, I’ll go. Just
>promise me you’ll still be here when I’m up?"

CROW: [ As Rebecca, sharply ] "I’m not planning to flee the moment your back is turned!"

>
> "I promise. Now, go!" He turned and headed out, still
>chuckling.

JOEL: It is funny, isn’t it?

TOM: What?

JOEL: You know, the funny stuff.

> Rebecca turned to Bookshire. "He really does
>love me, doesn’t he?" Bookshire’s face grew wistful.

CROW: The term is ‘codependence.’

> "More
>than you may ever know, Rebecca. That boy would give his
>life for you. I’m sure of it."

JOEL: But what do I know?

>
>End.

CROW: Yay!

TOM: Woo-hoo!

>
>Well? What did you think?

JOEL: Too many words.

> Since it’s my first attempt at a
>fanfic,

CROW: You don’t say?

> you can be sure that they’ll get better.

TOM: We can only hope so.

> Trust me,
>a lot of hair-pulling came about as a result of trying to
>finish this story.

JOEL: You too, huh?

> Still, I think I rather did a good job.

TOM: In a very restricted sense of the word ‘good,’ but…

>
>Questions?

CROW: Why does "Sonic the Hedgehog" get all these fanfics?

> Comments? Flames? Movie contracts?

TOM: The tragic thing is it’s too well written to become a movie these days.

> Job
>offers?

CROW: We’ll get back to you.

> E-mail me at bA—@ix.netcom.com.
>

JOEL: [ Picking up TOM ] We’ll keep that in mind.

[ 1.. 2.. 3.. 4.. 5.. 6.. ]

[ To conclude … ]


Please don’t cut yourself on my razor-sharp indictment of movies these days 25 years ago. Not sure anything else needs explaining … oh, well, “codependency” it turns out isn’t a thing. It doesn’t have a clear definition or scientific research showing it exists and it’s never been recognized as a psychological disorder and when you consider some of the stuff that was, wow. If word of this leaks to Mary Worth the world will never be the same!

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there. He/him.

4 thoughts on “MiSTed: Altered Destiny, Part 31”

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.