Comics Kingdom to Mess Everything Up Again


The blog of Tony DePaul, writer of The Phantom, includes a couple items likely to be interesting to my readers here. So, there you go, glad to help, catch you later.

Well, first, let me do the greatest service possible in this modern era and tell you why that’s something worth your click. First, DePaul writes about the just-concluded Wrack and Ruin story in the daily strips, which just wrapped up over two and a half years of imaginary and real story. And he gives some context to the new story, which started this week, and seemed to tease that the whole Wrack and Ruin might have been a dream, which people would have spent years complaining about in my blog, as if I had any responsibility.

But the current story is a revisiting, and reconsideration of, a 1953 Sunday strips story, The Chain. You can find a recap of the story at the Phantom Wiki. It explains the secret origins of the chain that you absolutely remember drapes across The Phantom’s throne in Skull Cave. DePaul writes about why he’s revisiting this and something of what he hopes to do. Those who’d like to read the original story, and who have a Comics Kingdom strip, can read it starting from the Sunday vintage strips dated the 11th of March, 2018, through to the 24th of June.

And that comes to the alarming news DePaul has. Comics Kingdom is redesigning their site, again, and has plans to unveil it next month, which I make out to be two years since the last time. DePaul is optimistic, having news that readers will be able to scroll seamlessly through stories going back to 1936(!). This would be a great step forward for The Phantom. And for all the comic strips that get accessible, deep archives like that. Me, I’ve been on the Internet long enough that I cannot remember the last time a web site redesign meant the things I do all the time got easier. Or even stayed only as hard as they were. I’m guessing if it doesn’t demand more clicking around, then it’s sure to demand more network traffic to deliver pictures.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there. He/him.

3 thoughts on “Comics Kingdom to Mess Everything Up Again”

  1. Hi I was glad to read your post about The Phantom’s story lines and the new Comics Kingdom website plans. This is actually a question, which, if CK revamps its website, might be moot. For more than a year or two, I have been unable to find a way to view the Disqus comments on comics (I’ve tried FF, Chrome, and Edge). I’ve been unable to find any discussion of this online. Am I the only one? What do I have to do to see the comments? I can’t even find a button/link to log in or subscribe to CK or Disqus.

    Like

    1. I … do not know how to use Disqus to comment on ComicsKingdom, no. I can find only options to log in as a Comics Kingdom subscriber, or using Google, Facebook, or Twitter. I would have sworn there had been one, though.

      Logging in to comment as a Comics Kingdom subscriber should be possible through clicking the ‘Log in | Sign Up’ text above the comment box, though. Does that offer anything?

      If it’s trouble logging in at all you might need to zoom your web browser out; that’s probably the command and minus keys. (I’m on a Mac so it’s flower and minus to me.) Their menu bar on top won’t let you scroll to the right to get to the log in button.

      I can’t guess how relevant any of this is going to be after next month, assuming the new version does post, but it’d be nice if it fixes problems. I’m sorry not to have more useful stuff to say but maybe someone will see this and chime in.

      Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.