Statistics May: How I Am Punished For My Bad Blogging Etiquette


Before I dive into May 2024’s statistics an explanation for something anyone who comments here has noticed. I do my best to answer comments when they arrive, but I’m also bad at it. I get into this complex where I realize I should answer this when I have a moment, and then it’s bedtime and I figure to get it the next morning, but there’s things to do then too, and so I’ll get to it in a moment with some even better response, and you see how that escalates. Usually I try and get some response done by the end of the month at least — these statistics posts do make me self-discipline some — but this May, it failed altogether.

And now, a month-plus behind in some cases, I have to just apologize and walk away from a mess of a month, comment-wise. I apologize to everyone who’s been good enough to write to me. I read your comments, and I think about them, and you deserve a response and I just flopped instead of doing them. I hope to do better now that I’ve taken the shame and declared blog-writer bankruptcy like this.

My confession made, now, let’s look around WordPress’s statistics about my readership the past month. WordPress figures there were 4,963 pages viewed here in May, which is the first tiem since last September that this dropped below five thousand. The twelve-month running mean of page views leading up to May was 5,735 per month, and the running median 5,431.5. So it was a down month by any measure there.

Bar chart of two and a half years' worth of monthly readership figures. After a peak in April 2021 the months hovering around 4500 views per month, without strong direction one way or another, until a new peak emerged in April 2022. A smaller peak reappeared in August 2022 and September 2022. After a sudden drop in May 2023 it grew several months in a row before dropping in September 2023. It jumps to a new peak in October and November 2023, then dips and rises again, rising and falling from December 2023 through May 2024.
Yeah so last month? When I asked why my readership shot up and then declined in alternating months and I wondered why not commit to one way or the other? I didn’t mean to commit to declining like that, sorry.

It was also a down month in the number of unique visitors, which was below three thousand for the first time since September. The running mean there is 3,328.4 visitors per month, and the running median 3,059 per month. So not terribly below average, but below it anyway.

The most predictable result of the month is that comments were way below average. I know it seems like they always were, but this month especially: 17 were given to me, against a running mean of 56.1 and median of 55.5. That’s a low not reached since February 2020. Even if I hd managed to squeeze out at least some reply by the end of the 31st and juiced that up to 34 comments … well, it would have been below average, but not historically low. Just, like, lower than anything since March 2024.

The anomaly of the month is in likes issued. There were 126 items that got liked by someone or other in May, the highest count since last June and noticeably above the mean of 98.9 and median of 98.5. One can conclude people like my embarrassed silence. And what was most-liked here, in May? Me confessing I only just got this one Far Side strip. But among things published in May that got well-liked this past month, the top five were:

Incidentally my most recent testing suggests that Comics Kingdom overcame the specific broken-ness I was warning people about there. At least the last couple days I’ve tried the ‘more comics’ button at the bottom of my favorites page and gotten more comics, as should be. They never responded to my bug report, of course.

I don’t know why my Statistics April report was so popular. Some time I’m going to have to do a test of posting, just, lists of links or countries or whatever and see if that’s attracting people. It might be that bots like stuff which looks like content aggregation. Well, my plan for aggregating content, in the form of turning three months’ worth of comic strips into like 800 words of plot summary without any of the satisfaction of reading a story, is this, for the month ahead:

I too am looking forward to explaining how much of Gasoline Alley the last couple months was repeating the previous plot in Gasoline Alley only as a dream sequence.

Mercator-style map of the world, with the United States in dark red and most of the New World, western Europe, Russia, South and Pacific Rim Asia, Australia, and New Zealand in a more uniform pink. China and most of Africa are blank.
This month in fascinating discoveries of countries that used to exist: Neutral Moresnet, a sliver of land that the Netherlands and then Belgium and Germany couldn’t quite bring themselves to fight over during the 19th century because there was just enough zinc there to be interesting. And you know, when you’re interesting enough for zinc, you’re interesting enough for anything. In this case, to go from the zinc running out to, at the behest of a local stamp collector, becoming the first Esperanto-speaking state in the world and “capital” of the world’s Esperanto community. So that’s nice.

There were 92 countries, or things like contries, sending me views in May. Here’s the roster:

Country Readers
United States 3,708
Canada 212
United Kingdom 184
India 89
Australia 85
Brazil 56
Germany 54
Italy 37
Philippines 37
South Korea 33
South Africa 27
Finland 26
Bulgaria 23
France 22
Netherlands 20
Malaysia 17
Japan 15
New Zealand 15
Indonesia 13
Saudi Arabia 13
Spain 13
Sweden 13
Kenya 10
Mexico 10
Portugal 10
Switzerland 10
Belgium 9
Ireland 9
Denmark 8
European Union 8
Thailand 8
Iceland 7
Israel 7
Kuwait 7
Russia 7
Ukraine 7
Austria 6
Puerto Rico 6
Greece 5
Maldives 5
Pakistan 5
Colombia 4
Iraq 4
Jamaica 4
Nigeria 4
Peru 4
Singapore 4
Taiwan 4
Algeria 3
American Samoa 3
Bangladesh 3
Chile 3
Czechia 3
Hong Kong SAR China 3
Latvia 3
Morocco 3
Norway 3
Poland 3
Romania 3
Turkey 3
Venezuela 3
Vietnam 3
Argentina 2
Bosnia & Herzegovina 2
Ghana 2
Honduras 2
Montenegro 2
Serbia 2
Tunisia 2
Belarus 1
Bolivia 1
Costa Rica 1
Côte d’Ivoire 1
El Salvador 1 (***)
Gibraltar 1
Guatemala 1
Guinea 1
Hungary 1
Jordan 1 (*)
Kazakhstan 1
Kosovo 1 (*)
Lebanon 1 (*)
Macao SAR China 1 (*)
Malta 1 (*)
North Macedonia 1
Oman 1
Panama 1
Paraguay 1
Qatar 1
Slovenia 1
Tanzania 1
United Arab Emirates 1

Jordan, Kosovo, Lebanon, Macao, and Malta were all single-view countries in April. El Salvador has been one view a month for four months in a row now. I don’t know what the deal is there. But that was 23 single-view countries for the month of May, about the same as the 25 from April. I, too, note the lack of views from “Unknown Region”, which I take to mean the Commander of the Jungle Patrol skipped me for a couple weeks.

WordPress estimates that I started the month at about 243,746 views from a total of 245,047 unique visitors. Those sound like numbers to me, too. It is of the opinion I published 15,553 words over the month, which is the median of my monthly writing count for the year so far. My average post came in at 501.7 words for May, and for the year to date has come in at 523 words.

If you’d like to be a regular reader here, thank you so. You can click the “Follow Another Blog, Meanwhile” button to add it to your WordPress reader. Or use the similar box for having posts e-mailed to you. You can use an RSS reader, which there’s a fine chance you have, it just doesn’t tell you you have. And if you want to comment, oh, you’re so very kind and I appreciate you. Thank you for the work you put in to making my blog more interesting.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there. He/him.

4 thoughts on “Statistics May: How I Am Punished For My Bad Blogging Etiquette”

  1. As a professional procrastinator, I fully sympathize with your plight. But this post is too long for me to deal with so I will put off reading it all until some other day.

    Like

    1. Thank you. Honestly, I feel a little more comfortable supposing that everybody is going to get around to my blog someday in the distant future when I won’t have to worry about how it’s received.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Answering comments when you usually have thousands of views must be pretty hard. I totally understand why it takes time to get a reply then. As far as I know this is my first comment here.

    Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.