A Heavenly Autocomplete


In my normal job I do computer programming stuff, so I spend a lot of time annoyed with computer programming stuff. Here’s a secret about being a professional computer programmer, though: when stuff doesn’t work you can type it into a search engine. And search engine autocompletes are great because they so often guess what you wanted to know before you even finish the question, adding that little touch of existential despair to looking up where it is that great music sting from the old CBS Special Presentation teaser came from, because now you know you’re not even in the first 25,000 people to wonder about that today.

Anyway, for the computer programming stuff, I’ve been busy since Wednesday trying to find a sufficiently large cudgel to bash in Visual Studio 2013, which is a program that lets you make other programs as long as you can make it behave. Since it’s not behaving, I went to DuckDuckGo because yeah, I’m that guy, and tried to get a hint about the trouble’s source.

My text: 'visual studio 2013 error list not showing other'; autocomplete: 'others god's love'
By the way, I still haven’t got my problem fixed.

I admit, somehow, I had failed to consider that the problem might be that Visual Studio 2013 didn’t feel the touch of God’s love. And now I have to wonder if my problems getting the hang of Objective C have been theological in origin.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

4 thoughts on “A Heavenly Autocomplete”

  1. I use DDG as well, and I suspect that their autocomplete behavior is based on full-corpus Markov chains rather than specific search phrases, because while it’s not as good for targeting, it’s WAY better for privacy (not to mention easier to scale).

    Personally I just do my searching from the address bar and leave autocomplete turned off anyway.

    Like

    1. Oh, it’s definitely a Markov chain and that’s kind of what’s wonderful about it. I think part of what I leave autocomplete turned on for besides it saving time when I am trying to debug something is that when it goes awry, it goes wonderfully awry. It embraces the kind of awry it takes imagination to go.

      Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

