They Also Warn Of Whimsical Dishes


I bought this neat little tea-making gadget, good for bagged or loose-leaf teas, because yeah, I’m that kind of person. You put the tea and the hot water into the main reservoir, and then you set the whole thing on top of your cup, and it drizzles out the center, and hope that when you lift the gadget up again it stops pouring, and if it doesn’t, you buy a replacement tea-making gadget, like I did in the previous sentence.

I noticed that packed with it was an advert asking me to “peruse our monthly newsletter with entertaining and interesting insights into the history and enjoyment of tea”, which is terrifying enough and a deeper connection than I really feel like for a company that sold me a tea-making gadget. Then it went on to ask that I “drop in on our lively bulletin board — you’ll meet tea-loving friends and find answers to all your tea questions.”

On the one hand, trying to strike up conversations with people with whom I share exactly one known trait — tea-drinking — is terrifying. The idea that I should have multiple tea questions ready for them to answer is all the worse. And on the other hand I’m fascinated by the idea of what an Internet community of tea-drinking people is like. And then I remember that since it’s an Internet community it’s a group of people telling one another that they drink tea wrong. Still, imagine the flame wars they must have.

It further encourages me to “take part in our monthly contest and discover the whimsical dishes created by people with a passion for cooking and tea”. That’s the sort of advertising copy to make me hide under the bed and feel vaguely bad about eating, having tea, or enjoying whimsy.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

10 thoughts on “They Also Warn Of Whimsical Dishes”

  1. Stop drinking your tea and post a pic of that tea thing! C’mon Joseph, don’t you know a picture paints a thousand words! I want to know that this thingy looks like … especially since I ❤ tea. Seriously I do. Earl Grey is my favorite.

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I’ve only used it twice at a restaurant and I was concerned it might spill into a big mess. It was quite a nifty gadget. That restaurant stopped using those tea things … don’t know why. Maybe due to mess? Who knows. Blah blah blah.

          Like

        2. It might have been just nerves. Or they maybe switched to a teapot that has a filter in the spout so they can just mix the leaves and water in and nobody has to do anything as unnerving as setting a jar of hot liquid on top of their cup.

          Liked by 1 person

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

