It Must Be The Receipt-Giving Season


I’d made a very slight run to Meijer’s, and got, and I want to list this for you because it kind of matters:

  • Cough drops (I’ve had a cough lingering from a cold I originally got in 1994, which makes this cold a very efficient purchase, averaged out over the years)
  • Toilet paper
  • Packs of sliced cheese (5 of them)
  • Quorn imitation-chicken nuggets
  • Boca vegetarian burger patties (2 packages)
  • Bread (2 loaves)
  • Soda, or as it is known in the local vernacular, “pop” [said as “Pope” but with a short vowel] (3 boxes of 12-packs)

Along with the receipt and a couple coupons the machine spat out at me one (1) gift receipt, and I’m trying to think which of these items triggered the “this might be a gift, better offer a gift receipt” part of the register’s programming. Spitting out a gift receipt for a package of long underwear or a magazine, I understand, but, a bag of cough drops? One but not all five packs of sliced cheese? Something in potentially poor taste? This is all very mysterious.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

23 thoughts on “It Must Be The Receipt-Giving Season”

        1. All I can say about my fashion sense is that, eventually, I did realize what I was doing, and stopped doing it. Well, I stopped wearing the orange sweatpants in public, and just wore them privately until they got holes that were too big to accept.

          Liked by 1 person

  1. I should have read THIS post first and then I would have known you obviously like cheese.

    But what strikes me about this post is that YOU’VE HAD A COUGH SINCE 1994! That’s longer (one year) than I’ve been a nurse! A 20-year-old cough?! Maybe you should buy that cough some booze and skip all those other treats … I mean TWENTY-YEARS? You should be celebrating some anniversary on that one!

    Oh, BTW, I don’t think the cheese will help that cough … it will problem make you even more phlegmy and mucousy … just sayin’ 🙂

    Like

    1. Well, it’s not usually a bad cough. It’s just something that demands a little attention, mostly coughing, now and then, for pretty much ever now. It’s really only a problem if you have to be in a room with me.

      Like

Please Write Something Funnier Than I Thought To

